A Different Kind of Sunday

Today, I had a friend invite me over at their church for a Sunday Service. She never told me that she’s a Born Again Christian; I just assumed so because of her jargon. I had proven that even more when we got to their place of praise.

While I was on my way there, I was hit by memories I had of Manila; it’s a city where I used to go to for research and outdoor activities when I was still in college. I remember the vintage feel or the Spanish influence in Intramuros and the hours I spent at the National Library of the Philippines – I crunched all the efforts in one day to read through materials so I won’t have to go back, because it’s far from my place.

The National Library of the Philippines

The National Library of the Philippines

I used to go to this library when I was doing my research for my thesis or Technical Writing subject (I could not remember which exactly, but either one or both). It had three or four floors (please correct me if I am wrong) from what I could remember from my vague recollections. It also has a collection of paintings and the constitutions written by the lawmakers of the country. Additionally, it also has the original manuscript of Noli Me Tangere and El Filibusterismo – the popular novels written by our national hero, Dr. Jose P. Rizal (salute).

Intramuros

Intramuros

As you can see from the picture above, there’s this old bridge which has stood from circa 1800 or 1900 (once again, please correct me if I am wrong) until today. When I traveled through Manila’s roads earlier, I did not realize how much I missed it.

Going back: when I saw my friend, Joyce, at our meeting place in SM Manila, she gave me this huge smile while carrying a McDonald’s kiddie meal. I asked her if she could buy me a burger and fries with drinks over the phone when I was still on my way, then told her I would pay her back when we meet; so I was wondering if what she was carrying is my food. At the time we were sitting at McDonald’s, she handed me the red box with the yellow M logo. I had to tell you, it made me laugh. It has this Minion character toy inside along with the food. How thoughtful and playful, really.

With my thirst and hunger quenched (with small wonder on how to play with the toy she gave me), we headed on to the church, where she usually goes to every Sunday. It is located near Malacañan Palace, Manila.

When we arrived, there are church people welcoming me. “This is different,” I thought. But then, she told me that the afternoon service is for, as she called it, “seekers” or more commonly known as “new comers”. Being born and raised as a Catholic, I find Born Again Christians as modern followers of Christ.

To be honest, I did not expect what I have experienced in Horizon church. The pastor is very much alive and snags your attention which makes the service more interesting. I doubt that you’d get bored listening to him. And there was this lesson of comparing your perception, other’s perception, and God’s perception of yourself.

Very likely, if people will be asked of their perception about themselves, most of them will answer something more on the negative side. Other people, will answer the same thing, too, when they get to be asked of how they see you as a person. But God won’t.

How the church members depicted it? Well, they sang two different songs at the same time: Beautiful by Christina Aguilera and the other, Creep by Radiohead. See video below.

We all have different perceptions of ourselves; other people, too. But whether you think you are not perfect or otherwise, there’s always a purpose for our existence. And finding out that purpose and how to start finding it, will be the big step towards the road you are supposed to live through. Like it or not, it always boils down to that point. Ask the right questions, whether you are an atheist or religious, I am positive that anyone with their right mind will get to ask themselves: “What is my purpose?”

From the pastor’s teachings, the only way to find out who you are and what your purpose is to know God first. As for me, I have been asking Him. I have always been looking for that answer for years; I would never know if I would not ask. What harm can a question do to me, right? So I have the same question for you: “What is your purpose?”

Image source:

“National Library of the Philippines, Feb 14” by Sky Harbor – Own work. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons

“Intramuros” by P199 – Own work. Licensed under CC BY-SA 3.0 via Wikimedia Commons

About Niobe Falls

Hi, a wonderful day to you! To summarize what I do, I write codes and literary fiction. I write software program source codes for a living - so I am currently a software developer (link: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Software_developer) . Yet I developed my "talent" in fiction writing on circa 2003; I was a graduating student in elementary school back then. I was fascinated by Bram Stoker's Dracula and has made me wonder if I could write like him, too, in a sense. I started by tweaking my favorite songs and transforming it to another poem/prose. Funny, that I used to have this "problem" in fiction writing that I cannot produce any written material when I am not sad. Now I can, with less effort. That's it about me. So, see you around!
Video | This entry was posted in Fresh Feeds, Travels and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to A Different Kind of Sunday

  1. zheshiwo says:

    Heaven grant that you will not turn your back from the true Faith. Pray hard to God and to His mother Mary for guidance. As for the above query this has long been answered by the Catholic Church, which can be found in the Catechism lessons: To know Him; To love Him; and to serve Him.
    Humanity has only one true goal, and that is to get back to its Creator. “Remember, man thou art dust and dust thou shalt return…”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. zheshiwo says:

    **Genesis 3:19

    In the sweat of thy face shalt thou eat bread till thou return to the earth, out of which thou wast taken: for dust thou art, and into dust thou shalt return.

    http://www.drbo.org/index.htm

    Liked by 1 person

  3. zheshiwo says:

    https://www.olrl.org/Lessons/

    Lesson 7

    What, then is the true purpose of life?
        To live your life according to God’s plan and thus to save your soul. * “For what shall it profit a man, if he gain the whole world and suffer the loss of his soul?  Or what shall a man give in exchange for his soul?”    (Mark 8:36-37)

    “Behold now you that say:  Today or tomorrow we will go into such a city, and there we will spend a year, and will traffic, and make our gain.  Whereas you know not what shall happen tomorrow.  For what is your life?  It is a vapor which appears for a little while, and afterwards shall vanish away.  For that you should say:  If the Lord will, and if we shall live, we will do this or that.”    (James 4:13-15)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sagar says:

    Your job-crazed picture is right on the money. Hilarious! And if you are82#n&17;t currently trying to pay rent with Monopoly money and you can afford to be a little choosy in your job, your advice to be yourself is the best advice. It’s hard to remember that as an interviewee you are actually interviewing the new job, too. I learned this lesson the hard way and had town socialites complaining about my handwriting to my boss in order to get me fired… small town politics are lame… and, as it turns out, not for me.

    Like

Comment

